The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) in South Africa is one of the leading scientific and technology research, development and implementation organisations in Africa. It undertakes directed research and development for socio-economic growth.

 Home About us Research & development Technology transfer Careers Contact us

CSIR Biosciences hosts 2011 Excellence Awards

The CSIR Biosciences honoured its outstanding individuals during an annual awards ceremony held on 9 December 2011 at the CSIR Central Station, Building 22. The awards event is aimed at recognising excellence and rewarding behaviours that are consistent with CSIR values as well as the Biosciences unit’s strategic objectives.

Nominations were made in a number of categories and the award recipients of each category were voted for by the Biosciences Recognition Awards Committee. Dr Joe Molete, Executive Director,CSIR Biosciences said, “As a unit we are proud to recognise those employees and students who have demonstrated excellence in allowing the unit to deliver on its objectives as well as on the CSIR mandate.”

This year’s award recipients are:

  • Abongile Dalasile received the Administrative Support Excellence Award. This award was established to honour an individual for delivering high quality service and outstanding administrative support. Citation.
  • Simon Mahlatjie received the Laboratory Assistant Excellence Award. This is an award established to recognise an individual for delivering exceptionally high quality laboratory assistance. Citation.
  • Dr Edwin Mmutlane received Professional Support Excellence Award. The award was established to recognise professional individual/group for demonstrating an in-depth understanding of the organisation and applying expert knowledge towards value-adding solutions for the organisation. Citation.
  • Tozama Ogunleye received the Biosciences 2011 Student Award. This award was established to recognise excellent research work/results by a student. Citation.
  • Dr Samantha Barichievy received the Emerging Researcher Award. This is an award established to recognise a contribution, well above expectations, by a researcher who is 35 years of age or younger, with three to five years post-doctoral experience working independently. Citation.
  • Dr Eugenia Barros received the Established Researcher Award. The award was established to honour an individual with post-doctoral experience with notable research output(s) that demonstrate(s) world-class knowledge generation, technical excellence or innovation in research and development (R&D). Citation.
  • Dr Lucia Steenkamp and Prof Paul Steenkamp received the Outstanding Contribution by an individual or team Award. This is an award established to honour an individual or team for an acclaimed research project leading to verifiable outcomes. Citation.
  • Dr Musa Mhlanga received the Best Publication Award. The award was established to recognise an individual with a publication that has had highest impact factor in the past year. Musa is the senior author of 2010 Nature Methods which has an impact factor of 20.
  • Dr Vinesh Maharaj and Dr Eugenia Barros both received the Long Service Award. They both have been devoted employees of the CSIR for the past 25 years.

Photo Gallery

News contributed by Sibusiso Ralarala, Marketing & Communications Manager, CSIR Biosciences

About this section
> About Us
> Staff/Organogram
> Photo Gallery
> Contact details
> Related Links
> Events
> Publications
  • Russian scientists visit the CSIR in search of collaboration possibilities
  • CSIR Biosciences team shortlisted for GAP Biosciences award
  • CSIR pay royalties to indigenous knowledge holders
  • CSIR Biosciences awards top performers
  • CSIR hosts a Chinese delegation
  • CSIR Biosciences participates in rural health career day
  • Business Areas
  • Natural & Traditional Products
  • Protein Technologies
  • Emerging Health Technologies
  • Commercialization
  • top Back to top